Like all organisations, ISL consists of a network of people who dedicate their energies to achieving the organisation’s mission and objectives. Most of these people are not employed directly by ISL, but come together virtually to create the institute and its outputs and outcomes.


Gayle Avery and Harald Bergsteiner, are the founding directors of the Institute for Sustainable Leadership. Both are specialist researchers and educators in sustainable leadership.

Dr Gayle C. Avery

GAveryDec2014-101px2Specialising in leadership, management development and creating sustainable enterprises, Gayle advises senior managers from a wide range of national and international clients and is author of many papers and books on management.
She is: professor at Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM), visiting professor at leading international business schools including the China Europe International Business School, and co-director of the Institute for Sustainable Leadership.

As a very experienced corporate and executive educator, Gayle Avery brings extensive global experience in business, government and academe. She has been academic leader on numerous study tours to visit European enterprises and examines sustainable leadership practices first hand.

Dr Harald Bergsteiner

Photo of Harald BergsteinerHarry completed his PhD in management at Macquarie University, and specialises in sustainable leadership and accountability.

Using additional skills from his earlier background in architecture and urban management, Harry applies extensive graphical modelling to present research findings to practitioners and in developing practical tools.

Harry is currently co-director of ISL, an honorary professor at the Australian Catholic University, author, study tour leader and advisor to government and the private sector.